Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-01-18 - 3:39 p.m.

I have a lot on my plate today. When I get home I can start finishing those things. One of the things I have to do is- no wait, two of the things are:
learn a Ben Ickies tune
learn a Baby Dee tune
Ben wrote a song for his orchestra but can't be at his show and asked me to play it for him. That's cool. I like his work.
And I have to learn a Baby Dee song for next week.
About three years ago I stayed at this lady's house in Ohio. She let me have her bed and she slept elsewhere. Had I known she would be sleeping on the dining room floor I would have refused for she had to get up early to do her paper route. She, Una and I had stayed up that night in her kitchen drinking wine. She was telling me about her album that had organ, accordion, piano, harp, and her vocals with birds from her backyard as a background. And I think if there are two cd's, then one is only birds from her backyard. So, I've been waiting to hear this for a long time.
Well, the other night, Sxip, the fellow I replaced in the Bindlestiffs, had a show and was to hook me up with a cd to learn her songs.
I missed Sxip's wonderful band but saw the Wiyos who were fantastic. A three-piece old America band with a singer who sounds a lot like Hank Williams. They were great.
Yesterday, I went to Magic Brian's and listened to Baby Dee's cd on the way. It's excellent. It's a cross of Rufus Wainwright and Tiny Tim. Beautiful, haunting songs.
You can get it at:
http://www.durtro.com/artistsf.html

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!