Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-10-19 - 11:45 a.m.

I saw two good shows today. I'm an ass for not taking advantage of my CMJ pass. I got hooked up with one and didn't use it wisely. For instance, I missed a Q and A with Trey Parker and Matt Stone that occurred after a screening of Team America. I'm an idiot. I love their work. I did see the movie, though. Sometimes it seems they piss on their own movies. And that's not necessarily bad. It's like their magic dust. And sometimes they pee too much magic.
"Hey Matt, I made the most beautiful model of St. Philips Cathedral!"
"Yeah, and I took a shit in it!"
"That�s awesome, dude."
But it doesn�t make it bad. I wish I could have seen them.
I did go see Jet Screamer. They�re from Denton. I hadn�t seen them in at least 5 years. They put on a good show. It�s a 3 piece: drums and 2 guitars with a lot of slides. It was good seeing them.
I also saw a show called Puck�d. It�s a rock musical based on A Midsummer's Night Dream with some circus thrown in. It was really good. It was amazing to see 7 dancers in a such a small space. I think it�s still showing at the Little Theater at the Y on 64th and 8th.
When I got my pass at the Javits center, I stopped to watch one of the many tv�s in the center and saw John Stewart on Crossfire. He took them to the mat. It was awesome. I can�t stand Tucker Carlson and when he started into Stewart, Stewart hit him hard back and Carlson�s comebacks were high school at best. Not good high school but the kind of high school that�s �I�d love to see Sam Raimi get hold of Jar Jar Binks@!� high school. But not that even cool high school. I'm lost now.
John Stewart was shaking. His hands were shaking. He was being taken on by these two and was kicking their asses but he was shaking. It was awesome.
Here�s the transcript of the show: Crossfire.
And Begala's final word was "John Stewart isn't funny." Liar. You lousy-losey liar.

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!