Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-27 - 4:56 p.m.

Flans was sick of the bus so he asked if he could ride with me to Charleston from Atlanta. I was a little giddy because there were so many questions I wanted to ask him and always forgot to when I was around him.
Our trip started with Flans asking, "You wanna get a McGriddle?"
I eat shitty food. I try not to but it's hard for me not to. It's a cool bond to hang out with someone that likes shitty food as much as I do.
It was past 11 so McDonald's had stopped serving breakfast. I saw a Krystal's next door and suggested that, because I hadn't had one in a long time. And I'd just seen American Splendor and it made me crave White Castle. White Castles are okay but have a weird taste due to the onions that are cooked in the meat. I shouldn't eat that crap anyway.

They have a sack of burgers special: 12 little burgers. I forgot to add cheese so I backed up and ordered the cheese.
We had to wait a bit due the amount of delicious greasey goodness that was cooking.
That first one was awesome. And then, Flans kept putting another one in my lap as I drove. He's a good riding partner. He gave me 8 and he had 4. I only wanted 6 even-steven but I wasn't counting. I felt terrible afterwards and realized why I haven't had Krystal burgers in a while.
I asked Flans a lot of questions about the business side of the Giants. I got a lot of good information out of him. He's very intelligent about everything. I can spout idiotic at any time if I'm not careful but his words are right on every time. Even when he got excited about some things that had annoyed him in the past, he was eloquent. I'm not saying this a some sycophant. I'm just saying there are some people that can talk freely and not say dumb shit. I'm not one of those people. I say dumb shit all the time. My memories of conversations are full of regret.
We stopped to get gas and I got some pork cracklins. I'd never had them but I remember my late grandfather telling me how he used to eat them after the hog killings back home.
That was one thing that I would eat alone in the car. And after two pieces I threw them out. Not even the molasses could jimmy the taste to palatable.
Flans offered to drive and was tired but I just kept driving. I need the rest so I should have handed over the wheel.
I'm lucky to have had him around long enough to pick his brain about how things work with the Giants. I learned a lot of useful information.
Flans is a good guy.

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!