Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-16 - 1:05 p.m.

When I have nothing real to talk about I'll make up a story about me and Johnson. Johnson's not real but he's based on a real person. I went to school with this guy in Ky and I remember how excited he got when I joined this country band with Eddy Craft.

It was the first time I'd ever played in front of people. We played a Bob Seger song, a Chuck Berry song, and then this song by Hank Williams, Jr. I'd never heard of him even though my dad gave made me a tape of his dad's music.

When we played this Hank Jr. ballad, everyone stood up and waved his bandana shouting. All I knew of this song was that it started in D. But afterwards, I understood the power of Hank Williams, Jr. My friend, Johnson, came up to me and said, "Man, I can't believe you guys played Hank. You know that song, 'Why do you drink?'"

"No."

"C'mon. 'Why do you roll smoke?'"

"No."

"Aw dude. That was awesome."

No, Johnson. You're awesome.

It's been quiet lately. I'm working on the score for this independent movie and getting funds together to go to sxsw. So, in the meantime, unless something cool happens, I may default to making up stories about me and Johnson.

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!