Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-13 - 5:47 p.m.

During my time in Europe with Planet Banana, I was hanging out with Clarke in his box truck/house while he was making me dinner. We had a terrible show that day at the Glastonbury Festival. Terrible show (including falling props, unattentive sound guy, and an uninvited volunteer on acid). And it would only get worse.

"But," he interjected, "I love my life. I love playing shows. I love making dinner in my truck. I love that this is my home. I'm very happy with this."

That's the way it should be. And now, after playing a great show in Toronto, I'm on a train to Windsor, ON because I couldn't find a ride to Detroit. And it's a very nice adventure.

I love what I do. I love panicking to get a ride to Detroit. The shitty times of my life are dimming due to adventure. I love playing shows. I love knowing it's what I do. I love talking shop to other showpeople. I love hanging out with other entertainers I've looked up to. I love that what I do is slotted in so many different arenas: comedy shows, rock clubs, circus tents, puppet stages, festival stages, the street, horse racing parks, arenas, living rooms, backyards, the bedroom, the office, television, sideshows . . .

I love that I can get away with this.

I've got it good today.

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!