Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-08 - 12:06 a.m.

I played 2 sets: one downstairs and one upstairs. They had free food and booze but I can�t partake before a set. It really slows me down.

I got all confused and shit about when I was supposed to play the second set. I mean, I truly had my head way into my ass. But check this out: stalling equals grandstanding. Todd Barry was lookin� from stage for me and I was watching funny guy downstairs with my dumb-dumb blinders on until Julie found me blissful and stupid and took me upstairs.

Downstairs was a rough crowd but upstairs I rocked that fuckin� boat. Maybe it was the breeze, maybe it was the wait, maybe it was ladies� energy but I took them to my stage and played best I could. I rocked the stupid right out of me.

Have you seen Fred Armisen? He�s hilarious. I watched him from the balcony above while highballing a Poland Spring.

I saw Rachel Dratch there but no Poehler. No sweet, angel-faced Poehler.

I double-thanked Benjamin, Barry, and Cross and received twenty combinations of right-on handshakes from Mr. Show.

I love when folks like my work. I love it when those folks tell me what they�re doing. I met some guys who have a troupe out in Staten Island. They were telling me about what they do(www.badbenfranklin.com). I�m not talking about the drunk �I do it, too� bullshit. I�m talking about guys excited about doing stuff and wanting to tell you about it. That shit�s cool.

I got a cab and went home where I played two more sets: one with the Golden Vipers and one with Alice Wakeman, the unfinished rock opera. I slept real good.

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!