Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-23 - 12:00 p.m.

I had the honor of being the last band to grace the stage before the 2 Skinnee J's touched it for the final time. I finally got to see Vic Thrill which was good.

The J's wanted me to go on right before they did. It was a complete honor to do it but I was worried about being the "one more act" that people would have to sit through before the J's went on.

All is Well played (they were good), then Vic Thrill rocked, and then it was me.

I was already worried and a bit panicked and the roadie for the J's wanted to check all the lines to make sure they worked. So everyone had to wait even longer for me to make things longer for them. In addition, the sound guys weren't told I was playing.

"You sure you're playing?"

"I think so."

So I waited, knowing that once I got out there to a crowd waiting for the 2 Skinnee J's an accordion player would definitely be unwelcome to the stage.

Lance Rockworthy came up and said, "Corn Mo, take it easy. These are J's fans. They love you."

"I don't think they will right now."

So, I kept pacing and waiting.

The roadie came off-stage and someone said, "You know Corn Mo is going on right before the J's, right?"

Then, the roadie looked at me and asked, "When are you going on?"

"Now?" I said.

"You mean, 'when I tell you'?"

Shit, I just wanted to do my fucking job I was asked to do.

I didn't want to bother anyone from the band because it was their night. Their final night to have a big blowout together.

But I did.

I got an idea and went up to Lance and asked, "I'm sorry to ask this but, can I ask a big favor?"

"Of course."

"Can you introduce me? I think if one of you guys did that then the audience will know I have your blessing."

"I'm not good at that but Stevie is. Let's ask him."

Not only did Stevie Spice introduce me, he made up an award to give me on stage-The Broken Keyboard Award.

He handed it to me hugged me and allowed me to smash the shit out of it.

I played three songs, got three bras, lovely fists in the air, and chants of "Corn Mo" and "Busey Boy".

I don't know my own strength, sometimes.

Stevie Spice is a beautiful as are all the 2 Skinee J's. I was really glad to be a part of that special show.

Always listen to Lance Rockworthy. He's the Rufus. Always.

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!