Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-23 - 12:12 p.m.

This week was fucking awesome. I went on Jimmy Kimmel Live on Tuesday and opened for They Might Be Giants last night. And for the first time in a long time I'm overdrawn at the bank. Thanks, landlord, you're the best.

Everyone on that show was really nice. There wasn't one asshole. Not one. The guy that picked me up at the airport; Davis, the guy that wanted me to submit lyrics for the censors; Tammy, the girl who set me up with everything; Adam, the guy that made sure things were cool and everyone.

And the band was real nice. Cleto III and his dad Cleto II were so damn nice. Everyone in that band is nice and fucking good at playing. They listened to my cd a couple of times wrote some things down and after 3 run throughs kicked "Busey Boy"'s ass. Then, they let me go throught the song list and pick out songs to play with them: "Hot for Teacher", "Man in the Box", "Let's Go", "Sharp Dressed Man", and "Lollipop" for the commercial bumps. I'm slow at picking up songs but Cleto let me know it wasn't a problem.

"Man, I don't know if I should take the solo for "Sharp Dressed Man".

"Don't worry about it. It's no big deal. Just have fun."

Awesome.

The show was going to have me play during the credits and I was a little bummed out but shit it was national so it wasn't too hard to keep a poker face. Then, they videotaped the rehearsal with the band and came back and gave me a full segment.

I was so nervous but I think I did alright. I got so excited when I watched the monitor and saw "Corn Mo" on the marquee lights at the beginning. And talking to the great Jimmy Kimmel was the fucking coolest.

"You enjoying yourself, Corn Mo?"

"Yeah."

"You're beautiful."

"Yeah."

"You nervous?"

"Yeah."

And then I rocked the shit out of that show. I was on fire. That was my time. And the band was straight on. Damn, I had so much fun.

The guests all filed out with Jimmy and each one gave a thumbs up or a nod and a wave. Ed McMahon gave me a point and a "good job". Props from the great Ed McMahon. Yeah!

Then, I went and hung out in the green room, ate some meat, drank some beer. Soon, everyone left and I hung out with a PA and a security guard. Good times.

More to come.

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!