Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-25 - 9:14 p.m.

The most anticipated show was Omid Djalili, an Iranian comedian. Me and Nick got tickets three days ahead because they were selling out.

I felt he was going to be the Middle Eastern version of Yakov "What a country!" Smirnov. I was gladly wrong.

Almost.

He started his show by playing the soundtrack to Mary Poppins. That was a good mood setter for the ambivalent.

I laughed alot. Alot.

He's a big guy who does a good, unintentional Kathy Najimy. He started out, "I've been tired with my flight lessons and all." Oh boy, here comes Yakov. But he was truly funny. He belly-danced and it was funny. I kept laughing. I don't get many British references and there were many but I got some. I know Michael Fish does the weather on BBC. Now.

"My wife is British and we have to compromise to make it work. She has come tonight with her sister-in-law. They are sitting in the back with veils."

I can't remember everything but he ended his show with a nice message about Sept 11. And danced again.

 

 

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!